Race Report: Sungardens Carousel Classic

I’ve been training pretty hard and regularly for the last 6 weeks or so after what seemed to be a very long and lazy winter. This Wednesday, Woman’s Day here in South Africa, was my first road race since the Argus back in March.Wednesday was the 4th time I’ve competed in the Sungardens Carousel Classic and my second attempt at the extended route introduced last year. The new 110km route is pretty much flat except for a short nasty climb at the turn-around.I started with the B bunch just before 8am. The starting times were delayed by about 20 minutes. I think the delay was caused by the bottleneck caused at the toll gate leading into the Carousel. There was only a single booth servicing all the cyclists arriving at about the same time. I later heard that there was an alternative route. Perhaps a sign or a marshal would helped the situation. Other than the mix up at the toll gate, the race went off with out a hitch. There were plenty of marshals along the route and our bunch was often accompanied by a motor bike. I completed the race in 3:06:22 with an average speed of about 35.5km/h, about a 6 minute improvement over last years time. A sub 3 is very possible but a pretty tough ask after a long winter. My next race is the Powerrade Lost City Classic on the 26 August.

Leave a Reply

